Sign Up / Log In
Need help?
1 213 559 2459
Online Support Billing and Accounts

How to Disable Auto Renewal

Auto Renewal is a recommended feature available for all our Domains, Hosting and other Products/Services, which helps to avoid losing Domain Ownership (or risk it falling into Redemption) and the suspension of its connected Services.

How Auto Renewal Works

The Renewal Date depends on the date of Domain Registration or purchase of Services and the plan period you selected upon first payment. The Auto Renewal feature is automatically activated upon successful registration/purchase for the protection of your website.

Generally, a Domain or Service goes into Renewal Due status 90 days before the expiry date, EXCEPT for .NO Domains. As per Registry, a .NO Domain Name can only be renewed as early as 30 days before the expiry date.

Auto Renewal is processed by the system 7-9 days before the expiration date of your Domain or Service. However, a notice is first sent 1-2 days before the scheduled Auto Renewal, to inform you that you are about to be billed and to allow you to disable the Auto Renewal feature within the said period, in case you no longer wish to continue using the Domain or Service.

Note: The Auto Renewal notice for .AU Domains are sent 30 days before the expiry date.

If not manually disabled, the Auto Renewal will proceed as scheduled. If the Auto Renewal attempt fails, an Auto Renewal Fail notice will be sent to you on the same day. And if not manually renewed, the system will attempt Auto Renewal again on the 3rd and 2nd days before expiry. The final attempt for Auto Renewal is processed on the actual date of expiry.

You may also refer to the Diagram below on how Auto Renewal works:

how auto renewal works

How to Disable Auto Renewal

If you no longer wish to use a Domain or Service, you may turn off Auto Renewal using the steps below:

  1. Click Sign Up / Log In at the top of this page.
  2. Ensure that Account Manager is selected.
  3. Enter your username and password then, click Log In.
  4. Click on the Visit My Account button.
  5. Hover your mouse pointer over your Account Name at the top-right corner of the Home page and select Payment Settings from the drop-down list.
    Or, click Edit Profile from the Home page, then click Payment Settings from the left-side menu.
  6. Scroll down to the Payment Settings section to view the list of credit cards you've added in your account.
  7. Click on the Domains button on the relevant card.
  8. On the pop-up window, uncheck the boxes next to the Domains you do not want to be automatically renewed.
  9. Click on the Update button to save.
  10. Click on the Products tab, then uncheck the boxes next to the Products you do not want to be automatically renewed.
  11. Click on the Update button to save.

Congratulations! You've just disabled the Auto Renewal feature for your Domains and Products.

Was this helpful? Yes No 74% of people found this helpful.
we're
online
Need Help? Chat Now